Poc Fada 2013

posted 27 Dec 2013, 12:01 by Newcestown Gaa   [ updated 4 Jan 2014, 14:42 by Jerry O'Mahony ]
Following a stormy night, the winds abated and the sun shone on the start of the Poc Fada on Friday 27 December 2013 at 2pm.

The guest of honour, Seán Óg Ó'hAilpín hit the first poc.

There was a good turn out especially from the underage players. Forty five teams took part.

Cha Wilson the chairman of the underage section of Newcestown GAA presented the Ger Long Memorial Cup to the winning team which consisted of Órla Dinneen, Maeve Lynch and Órla Collins.

Thanks to everyone who took part in what has become a very enjoyable occasion. It was great to see so many people home for Christmas. Thanks also to O'Mahony's Bar for providing entertainment after the event.

The complete list of winners is:

 Category Team members
 Overall first place
 Órla Dinneen, Maeve Lynch, Órla Collins
 Overall second place
 James Kelleher, Peter O'Riordan, Brian O'Connell
 Overall third place Colm Dinneen, Willaim Hurley, Ciarán McCarthy
 Familiy first place
 Olan Walsh, Euan Ryan, David Ryan
 Family second place
 Richard O'Sullivan, Cormac O'Sullivan, Charlie Ryan

Click on the photo below to see more photos from the event.