O'Callaghan Cup Victory for Hammies

posted 2 Dec 2013, 00:31 by Newcestown Gaa   [ updated 2 Dec 2013, 00:32 ]
Newcestown players played a big part in Hamilton High Schools recent victory in the O'Callaghan Cup final. This was the first time Hamilton High School (Hammies) have won the Cork senior A post primary schools hurling title.

Micheál McSweeney captained the side against the might of Midleton CBS as they ran out winners on a scoreline of Hamilton High School 2­-17 Midleton CBS 2-­8.

Newcestown had six players on the starting fifteen, namely Micheál McSweeney, Niall Murray, Murt Kennelly, Luke Meade, Darragh Curran and Trevor Horgan with a further two players on the subs bench Colm Dinneen and James Kelleher.The same panel of players have also qualified for the Harty Cup quarter final to be played in January.