u14 ‘A’ County Final goes to a replay!

posted 6 Oct 2014, 14:54 by Newcestown Camogie PRO

On Friday 26th September, Newcestown and Aghabullogue contested the 2014 u14 ‘A’ Camogie County Final in Cloughduv.  Aghabullogue started well, scoring 3 points to no reply in the first fifteen minutes, a lead that could have been more but for the quick reactions of Newcestown goalkeeper Orla Dinneen who was outstanding throughout. 

A short puck out to wing back Ciara O’Sullivan who in turn launched a long ball in to the half forward line to forward Aoife Buckley.  Aoife passing to midfielder Chloe O’Leary, who ripped through the Aghabullogue defence to score Newcestown’s first goal.  Centre back Aishling O’Donovan and her cousin midfielder Meabh O’Donovan worked tirelessly to keep the ball up in the opposition’s half.  Just before half time, Chloe O’Leary set up full forward Maria Kenneally to score her first point of the game. 

Half time score: Newcestown 1-1 v 0-3 Aghabullogue. 

Substitute Lauren Wilson replaced Alice Tarrant at the start of the second half.  Two minutes in, Chloe O’Leary hammered home a second goal for Newcestown.  Maria Kenneally had a number of chances on goal, to be denied by Aghabullogue’s goal keeper.  Maria’s persistence paid off soon after, scoring her second point to put Newcestown in the lead by four points.  Not to be denied, Aghabullogue responded by scoring a point and goal respectively, narrowing the gap to just one point. 

Both sides missed opportunities in the dying minutes as the fast pace of the game began to tell.  The final score of the match came six minutes in to injury time, as Aghabullogue secured a free, to convert for a point to level the match. 

Final score: Newcestown 2-2 v 1-5 Aghabullogue.

Team: 1. Orla Dinneen 2. Kate Barry 3. Aoife O’Sullivan 4. Evelyn McCarthy 5. Ciara O’Sullivan 6. Aishling O’Donovan 7. Siobhan Kelleher 8. Chloe O’Leary (2-0) 9. Meabh O’Donovan 10. Emma Wilson 11. Alice Tarrant 12. Meabh McSweeney 13. Aoife B O’Sullivan 14. Maria Kenneally (0-2) 15. Aoife Buckley

Subs: 16. Lynn O’Callaghan 17. Betty Coughlan 18. Lauren Wilson 19. Leah Jennings 20. Kelly Collins 21. Orlaith Sheehan 22. Niamh Murray 23. Gobnait Kiely 24. Sarah Allen

u14 County ‘A’ Final replay to take place next Saturday, 4th October at 4pm in Cloughduv.