Under 16 hurling championship vs Sam Maguires 19/8/2014

posted 24 Aug 2014, 10:28 by Newcestown Gaa   [ updated 24 Aug 2014, 13:33 by Jerry O'Mahony ]
Newcestown met Sam Maguires in the final of the under 16 B hurling championship in Bandon on Tuesday 19 August 2014. Sam Maguires led at half time by 1-3 to 0-3. Sam Maguires got a goal early in the second half, this galvanised their grip on the game and coupled with their work rate kept Newcestown from getting back in to the game.

On the Newcestown team, both Padraig Collins at full back and James Kelleher at centre back played well while Fionn Herlihy from Sam Maguires had a good game limiting Colm Dinneen to 4 points from play.

The full time score was Sam Maguires 2-8, Newcestown 0-10.

Aidan O'Rourke, chairman of Carbery Bord na n'Óg presented the cup to James Murray, the captain of Sam Maguires.

Ian McCarthy from Bandon refereed the game.

Newcestown: Olan Walsh, Mark Shorten, Padraig Collins, David Buckley, Newcestown: Eoghan Collins, James Kelleher (0-1), Gerard Murphy, Gearóid O'Donovan, Shane Collins, Sean Galvin (0-1), Peter O'Riordan (0-2, 0-1f), Greg O'Sullivan, Daniel Desmond (c), Colm Dinneen 0-6 (0-2f), Shane Scanlon

Subs: Dan McAree, Shane Collins, Daire McAree, Conor Goggin, Barry Coughlan, Timmy Coughlan, Tadhg Galvin.  

Sam Maguires: Cathal Kelly, Stephen Daly,Adrian Cronin,Mikey Kelly,James O'Sullivan,James Murray (c),Kevin Murphy,Jerry O'Farrell (1-2, 0-2f),Eoin O'Sullivan,Fionn Herlihy,Brian McCarthy,Padraig O'Mahony,Bill Murphy, Daniel O'Sullivan,Keith Forbes (1-6, 0-5f).

Subs: Sean Hudson, Jamie Kearney, Mark Shannahan, Denis McCarthy, James Arnopp, Cillian Farr, Killian Cahlane, Kieran Forbes, Declan Collins, Eoin Murray.

Substitutions used: Sean Hudson for Brian McCarthy.


More photos 

Newcestown will play Lisgoold in the quarter final of the county on Saturday 23 August while Sam Maguires will play Ballygarvan in the semi final on 25 August.