Under 16 hurling championship Newcestown vs Ballinascarthy 04/08/14

posted 10 Aug 2014, 13:53 by Newcestown Gaa   [ updated 10 Aug 2014, 13:54 ]
Newcestown and Ballinascarthy both made the short journey to Bandon on Monday 4 August to battle it out for a place in the West Cork final.

The Newcestown lads were quicker off the mark. Two well worked team points followed by a smasher of a goal from Peter O'Riordan ensured a 1-­2 lead after ten minutes.

Their competent start was short lived as Ballinascarthy fought back with two points from Seán Ryan and Ben Murray. Pedlars managed to further eat into the lead with two frees well struck over the bar again by Seán Ryan, who looked to be well on form from placed balls. Newcestown and Ballinascarthy both exchanged some fine scores including a goal for each team to leave the half time score at Newcestown 2­04 Ballinascarthy 1­07.

The second half of this tight encounter was only seconds old when Colm Dinneen raised Newcestown's third green flag of the night. However this led to a purple patch for the Pedlar's boys scoring three unanswered points on the trot. Nonetheless Newcestown ensured that they held their own with some impressive teamwork. Padraig Collins, David Buckley and James Kelleher worked well in a defensive unit clearing ball after ball. Newcestown were leading by a point when Ballinascarthy recorded their next and final score on the twenty minute mark through a Ben Murray goal to put the Bal boys two points to the good.

With time running out fast Newcestown stormed back into the game. Great team work helped Colm Dinneen in scoring a further five points without reply for Newcestown to safeguard a place in the West Cork final v Dunmanway. 
Final score Newcestown 3-­11 Ballinascarthy 2-­11.

Referee: Ian MacCarthy (Bandon).

Newcestown:O.Walsh, M. Shorten, P. Collins, D. Buckley, E. Collins, J.Kelleher, G. Murphy, S. Galvin, S. Collins, D. Desmond, P. O Riordan (1­-0) , G. O Sullivan, T.Coughlan, C. Dinneen (2­-10 , 0­-3f ,0-­1 side line), S. Scanlon(0­-1)

Subs:C. Goggin, T. Galvin, S.Collins, B. Coughlan

Ballinascarthy:P. Cullinane, E. Nyhan, S. Crowley, J.Ryan, C. McCarthy, S. Shannon, C. Nyhan, D. O'Donovan (0­-1), S. Nyhan, B. O Donovan, S. Ryan (1-­7, 0-­6f ),D.Mc Carthy, C.O'Neill, Ben Murray(1­-3), A O Fly.nn

Subs:J. Lehane.
The Newcestown Team

All photos