Under 14 hurling championship vs St Patrick's 11/8/2014

posted 12 Aug 2014, 06:46 by Newcestown Gaa   [ updated 12 Aug 2014, 06:49 ]
Newcestown met St Patrick's in the first round of the Rebel Óg under 14 B hurling championship in Rossmore on Moday 11 August 2014. St Patrick's got off to a good start with goals from Paddy Burke and Dylan Murray  and lead at half time by 3-3 to 0-4. Newcestown's scores came from three frees from the stick of Olan Walsh and a point from play by Daire McAree. 

Newcestown started well in the second half and scored two early goals, the first from Olan Walsh and the second from Seamus O'Sullivan. The lively forwards kept the scoring going by taking their points well. St Patrick's added a goal (Ian Jennings) and two points to their tally in the second half. 

Newcestown emerged victorious by the narrowest of margins. The full time score was Newcestown 2-12, St Patrick's 4-5. 

Scorers for Newcestown: Olan Walsh 1-7 (0-5 frees), Seamus O'Sullivan 1-0, Daire McAree 0-2, Edmond Kenneally 0-2, Eoghan Collins 0-1 (65).

Newcestown will meet Ibane Gaels in the next round.

Newcestown: Timmy Coughlan, Conor Goggin, Sean Galvin, Barry Coughlan, Daire McAree, Tadhg Galvin, Eoghan Collins, Olan Walsh, Darragh O'Riordan, Colm O'Donovan, Ciarn Durkin, Seamus O'Sullivan, Cathal Wilson, Edmond Kenneally, David Buckley.
Subs: Tom Flanagan, Tommy Hurley

St Patricks: Paddy Burke, Jack Collins, David O'Connor, Elliot Connolly, Patrick Crowley, Eugene Daly, Darren Daly, Eoin O'Donovan. Eoin Hickey, Dermot Hegarty,  Michael McCarthy, Michael Meaney, Christy Wilson, Dylan Murray, Sean Walsh, Ian Jennings, Fin O'Donovan, Odhran Kerrisk, Iarlaiteh Hurley, Liam O'Donovan.

More photos