Under 14 hurling championship vs Ibane Gaels 26/8/2014

posted 27 Aug 2014, 05:46 by Newcestown Gaa   [ updated 27 Aug 2014, 05:46 ]
Newcestown met Ibane Gaels in the semi final of the Rebel Óg under 14 B hurling championship in Clonakilty on Tuesday 26 August 2014. The opening part of the match was close, as the half wore on Newcestown found the scores easier to come by. Just when it looked that Newcestown would be well ahead at half time, Ibane Gaels scored a goal just before half time leaving the score at half time at Newcestown 2-9 Ibane Gaels 2-3. Edmund Kenneally's had a great first half scoring 2-2.

First half scorers: Edmond Kenneally 2-2, David Buckley 0-2,Daire McAree 0-1,Sean Galvin 0-1,Olan Walsh 0-2,Colm O'Donovan 0-1.

Cathal Wilson made two great saves in the second half preventing Ibane Gaels from increasing their goal tally.
All of the Newcestown players put in a bigger effort in the second half, putting pressure on the opposition by hooking and blocking, limiting Ibane Gaels to a point in the second half.

The full time score Newcestown 2-16, Ibane Gaels 2-4.

Second half scorers: Edmond Kenneally 0-1,David Buckley 0-1,Sean Galvin 0-1,Olan Walsh 0-2,Seamus O'Sullivan 0-1,Eoghan Collins 0-1.

Starting team:
[1] Cathal Wilson,
[2] Barry Coughlan, [3] Tadhg Galvin, [4] Tommy Hurley
[5] Conor Goggin, [6] Eoghan Collins (0-1), [7] Ciarn Durkin
[8] Seamus O'Sullivan (0-1), [9] Sean Galvin (0-2)
[10] Timmy Coughlan, [11] David Buckley (0-3), [12] Olan Walsh (0-4),
[13] Edmond Kenneally (2-3), [14] Daire McAree (0-1), [15] Colm O'Donovan (0-1).

Subs: [16] Oisin O'Sullivan (came on for Timmy Coughlan), [17] Carlos O'Mahony, [21] Gavin Kelleher, [19] James Ryan, [20] Richard O'Sullivan, [18] Tom Flanagan.

More photos