Under 14A football final vs Sam Maguires 20/6/2015

posted 21 Jun 2015, 07:44 by Newcestown Gaa   [ updated 21 Jun 2015, 09:53 ]
Sam Maguires won the Rebel Óg West under 14A football championship final in Enniskeane on Saturday June 20.
They beat Newcestown by three points in a competitive fast-paced game.

First Half
Newcestown had the aid of the wind in the first half. 
Sam Maguires opened the scoring with a point from Alan Crowley in the first minute. 
In the second minute David Buckley ran from midfield with the ball and scored a goal from 20m in to the top right corner. 
At this stage in the game Newcestown were on top and Daire McAree got their second goal in the fifth minute. 
Alan Crowley got Sam Maguires' first goal after fifteen minutes.
Newcestown's goal keeper, Brian Murphy stopped a good shot from Alan Crowley in the nineteenth minute.
Sam Maguires's goal keeper, Stephen Daly made two fine saves just before half time, the first from Adam Giles at close range and the second from a shot by Edmund Kenneally. However Kenneally's persistence paid off and he scored a subsequent goal chance.
The half time score was Newcestown 3-7, Sam Maguires 1-3.

Second Half
Sam Maguires started the second half with a renewed sense of purpose. 
As he did in the first half, Alan Crowley pointed early from play.
Their midfield pair of Kevin Coughlan and Jean-Luc Debarbouille ran at the Newcestown defence.
Within five minutes of the restart Coughlan scored two goals from play.
In the Newcestown goal Brian Murphy made another good save from a shot by Coughlan.
In the other goal, Stephen Daly made a good save from a shot by Daire McAree.
Coughlan's third goal was scored from a penalty after Jack Forbes was fouled.
Two minutes later Jack Forbes' long ball was punched to the net by Coughlan.
Newcestown did not give up, with twelve minutes to go Seamus O'Sullivan scored from the penalty spot. 
With a minute to go Sam Maguires were three points ahead. 
Newcestown were awarded their second penalty but the ball was driven wide.
Sam Maguires got a chance to widen the gap to four points from a free but did not score.
The final score was Sam Maguires 6-6, Newcestown 4-9

[1] Brian Murphy
[2] James Ryan [3] Tadhg Galvin [4] Ciarn Durkin  
[5] Colm O'Donovan (0-1) [6] Eoghan Collins [7] Darragh Buttimer 
[8] David Buckley (1-2) [9] Seamus O'Sullivan (1-1, 1xPen)
[10] Adam Giles [11] Daire McAree (1-1) [12] Olan Walsh (0-1)
[13] Cathal Wilson (0-3, 3xf) [14] Edmund Kenneally (1-0) [15] Rory Murphy 

Subs: (17) Darragh O'Riordan (18) Olan Corcoran (19) Tom Flanagan (20) Carlos O'Mahony (21) Darragh Collins (22) Ross Power

Sam Maguires

[1] Stephen Daly
[2] Peter Collins [3] Jason Daly [4] Seán Dullea
[5] Cian Hurley [6] Darragh Collins [7] Aaron O'Donovan
[8] Jean Luc Debarbouille [9] Kevin Coughlan (4-0, 1xPen)
[10] Conor O'Connell [11] Kieran Forbes [12] Joseph Collins (0-1)
[13] Jack Forbes [14] Alan Crowley (2-5) [15] Luke Kearney

Subs: (16) Daire Hayes (17) Cathal Duggan (18) Colin Farr (19) Conor O'Neill (20) Daniel McCarthy (21) Keith Forbes (22) Seán Murphy (23) Darragh Kelly (24) Michael Collins (25) Jerry Collins

Subs used: Conor O'Neill on for Aaron O'Donovan, Michael Collins on for Aaron O'Donovan, Cathal Duggan on for Joseph Collins.