Minor football championship vs Millstreet 9/4/2013

posted 9 Apr 2013, 14:34 by Jerry O'Mahony   [ updated 10 Apr 2013, 01:13 ]

Newcestown travelled to Macroom to play Millstreet in the first round of the premier 2 minor football championship on Tuesday 9 April.

Millstreet opened the scoring with a point from a free in the second minute. Cian Healy scored from the penalty spot in the fourth minute and after fifteen minutes Newcestown lead by 1-3 to 0-3. Newcestown finished the half strongly and led by 1-7 to 0-4 at half time. Just before half time the ball ended up in the Millstreet net, however the play was called back and a penalty awarded. The penalty was well saved by the Millstreet goal keeper. All Millstreet’s first half scores came from frees.  

Newcestown started the second half by scoring 1-4 without reply. The goal, scored by Murt Kennelly, was the result of good passing move. Millstreet’s first score of the second half came after 15 minutes. It was a fantastic goal which came from a long ball into the full forward who caught it overhead then turned and scored. Newcestown continued to score to the end. Good defensive work limited Millstreet to a 1-1 (including a goal from a penalty) in the last quarter. The full time score Newcestown 2-16 Millstreet 2-5.

Team: Cathal Clarke, Ryan Collins, Lee O’Donovan, Evan Shorten, Niall Murray (0-1), Michéal McSweeney, Luke Meade, Greg Murphy, Liam O’Mahony, Jason Jordan Murt Kennelly (1-5), Darragh Curran (0-1), Jack O’Toole (0-3), Oisín Collins, Cian Healy (1-6, 0-1 free)

Sub used: Michael Lordan, Paul O’Sullivan, Gerard Collins.